24/12

It has been 24 days since I have sit down to blog anything. A story, whether with a happy ending (such as a recap of any of my wonderful showers) or of a sobbing nature (such as my computer is still screwed up from my Little Miss Fix-It syndrome a while back) has yet to find its way into these parts. While I know I’ve never been the world’s most reliable blogger, I think I’ve reached a new low and I thank you now for your understanding. Because you see, in 12 days, I’m getting married.  I officially (not an exaggeration) had to catch my breath after I saw the number 12 on my Facebook Wedding Application while writing this. 12. Do you realize the amount of errands that need to be run, thank you notes that need to be sent, bags that need to be packed, place cards that need to be assigned, favors that need to be assembled and gifts that need to be purchased within those 12 days? I should fall over dead from exhaustion now and save myself the trouble.

But in 12 days, y’all….. Different story.

It’s certainly not that the things that happened in the last 24 days aren’t blog-worthy. I have had some incidents both good and quite ugly that would make fantastic posts, but for my sanity… for my mental health…. for the mental health of my family and almost-but-not-quite-just-give-us-12-more-days-husband, I need to start from this moment and move forward.

I’ll try to come back and give you all an update as to whether I’m still alive or not once or twice in the next 12 days, but ya know, you never know with me. I may have children next time you see me around here, but bear with me… I’m about to be married and unemployed and what does that combination allow for, if not a helluva lot of time to blog??? A whole new breed of storytelling if you will.

So I’ll see you in the next few days. Maybe. Or after I’m a married woman.

Oh heavens.


2 responses to “24/12

  • Tim Stevens

    Courtney–just came upon your blog and have a couple thoughts:

    1) Congratulations on your wedding. 12 days away? Holy moley. Life will change. It did for us 20 years ago. But I’m more in love than the day we got married. It can be good!

    2) You are a gifted writer. I don’t know what you do with it–but don’t give it up. It’s very conversational, you pull your audience in. I would buy any book you wrote. Seriously. Press into that gift–God will use it.

    That’s all.

  • DaddyPapaJeff

    B R E A T H ……. ok again…….. B R E A T H

Leave a comment